Visiting the Big Four Bridge

IMG_1579IMG_1615

The Big Four Bridge

On the second day of my vacation here in Louisville, Kentucky, two of my cousins drove my sisters and I to the Big Four Bridge, an old bridge the state shut down to turn to a walkway for people to cross between the states of Kentucky and Indiana. This very bridge used to allow people to cross by motor vehicles but shut down because it was getting old, therefore, they built a new bridge right next to this one. Crossing this bridge took about a good 15 minutes to get to Indiana but it was totally worth it. There was a man with his cart at the entrance of the bridge selling all sorts of food, drinks, and ice cream. Man, did that ice cream feel  good on that hot and humid day. They also rented out bicycles and carriages for people who didn't want to walk but travel in a more exciting way. I noticed that there was lots of drawings and sketches on the concrete of bible verses, quotes, quirky drawings, and hopscotch. These people sure do have a mind of their own.

IMG_1668

Exploring a New City

The other side of that bridge was Jeffersonville, Indiana, a city and a state that I have never been to in my life. It was such a beautiful sight and a different one. The streets were nothing like where I'm from, which is Houston, Texas. Every corner you turned, there were houses with architecture from possibly the 1800s or 1900s. My cousins pointed out a spot where people used to crowd to play Pokemon Go when it was first released, but now it was pretty empty. There was a moment where we stopped to rest because my cousin and I needed to catch a wild Charizard that appeared in Jeffersonville. As we circled our way back to the bridge, I noticed this unique, abstract piece of art in an area called Parlour. I wasn't sure if that was the name of the sculpture or not but it was a sight to see.

IMG_1646

At The Border

Before walking back to Louisville, there was a cement wall that had to be miles long. It was the wall that separated Kentucky and Indiana. Normally, there would be a sign on a highway saying "Now entering _______" but not these two states; here they built a wall to make it obvious where the border was. Of course, I had to take a picture in the doorway, I mean, look at it. In the background of the photo is the old bridge along with the high ramp we have to walk on just to get to the bridge itself. Talk about burning calories!

That day was a day to remember. I went sightseeing and coincidentally explored a new city and state that I never intended to go to. I've visited Louisville ever since I was a child but have never been to this bridge. It was a whole new experience and I enjoyed every second of it. I hope to go back next year and explore new locations and hot spots!

If you guys have visited a state border or even a country border, leave a comment below! I would love to hear your stories and forget to follow me on Instagram, Tumblr, and Twitter!

Until next time!

 

Best wishes,

David Nguyen

Leave a Reply

